Not So Fast

I spent the weekend in the hospital again with chest pains again. I wasn’t confident about the doctors’ diagnosis of a sinus infection, plus my chest pains had gotten worse to the point of me passing out when I exerted myself too much.

So after another agonizing 6 hour wait, 2 chest x-rays, an EKG, and another CT Scan the doctors figured out that I have Pleurisy (basically an inflammation/infection of my lung lining and chest wall). Fun, not so much.

They gave me some gooood knock-me-out drugs, and that’s how I’ve been for most of the last 24 hours…knocked the hell out.  But I can’t do ANYTHING. Almost everything I do leaves me writhing in pain that radiates from my chest to my back and down my arms. So as I’m walking to the kitchen for a drink my body lets me know ‘not so fast heffa!’. I’m miserable. I can only sit on the couch for so long, and the doctors have me on injured reserve for at least 10 days.

I go back to work tomorrow (in a brand new position–sista’s movin up in the company!), and there is a chance I might not be able to go. Sitting up for longer than an hour is bad business, so hopefully I can get it together to work at least a half day. My boss is already aware and has told me to take as long as I need, but I’m really ready to get to work.

I would complain bitterly about this, but I know this is my body’s way of telling me I need to listen to it more. Less stress, etc for the new year. My body has been working overtime, and it needs to rest. *sigh*

I’ll be posted up on the sofa if you need me. *sigh* 

12 thoughts on “Not So Fast

  1. Girlfriend, rest up, and don’t even *consider* going into work until you feel better. If you die in the line of duty (e.g. you’re vulnerable to other illnesses, given that you’re already rather ill), your heirs will get a $40 arrangement and possibly the plantation will donate money ($100) to a charity your family designates.

    Heal thyself.

    You certainly don’t want to start off your new position half-way.

    They’ll get by without you for a few days…

  2. I hope you feel better. I have been there before. You need to rest yet it hurts to lay down for too long and still you can only sit up for so long too. Take it easy and take your meds and alternate until you get better.

    Our bodies tell us early yet we push on then bam it says stay still. Stillness is good except if illness brings it on. The body is reminding us to be still and let some stuff go.

  3. I hope you have your feet up and are feeling better. Get some rest girl, I need you well rested so you can kill me dead with your stories 🙂

    …you want me to get the blanket of doom for you? *smile*

  4. Girl, you better keep your butt at home and get some rest. You boss seems to be pretty understanding so I would take advantage of that. Listen to what your body is telling you.

    I hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

