As The Relaxer Jar Turns

I’m about to start on probably the most interesting personal journey ever. I’m giving up the creamy crack (relaxers) for good. I actually stopped perming my hair when I first moved to the urrrea, so it’s been about 2 and a half years since my last “bone straight” session. I’ve worn a lot of braids and hairpieces since then, but I’ve finally made up my mind.

 

It was one of those decisions that took a long time to make, going back and forth and getting a better sense of what I find aesthetically pleasing and really getting a better sense of who I am. I find beauty in a fresh roller wrap, neatly groomed locs, and a big ol’ Angela Davis fro’, so for me it’s not about the argument of is natural better than relaxed. I can’t bother getting caught up in that, because for me to say one is better than the other would make me a hypocrite.

 

I’ve spent a lot of time in the last few years really getting to know who I am, so I’ve figured that this change is probably the best for me. I’ve got a lot of cleansing and healing to do (including how I take care of myself, how I eat, how I think, etc) and that’s probably best done naturally. In January, I’ll be starting the process of locing my hair. I’d do it now, but out of pure vanity I don’t want to have baby locs in my wedding pictures. I’m having a good time right now with my kinky twists, but we’ll see what hairstyle the big day brings. Maybe I’ll wear my big long fluffiness Chaka Khan style, or then again maybe not.

 

My reasoning for going natural might not be ‘good enough’ for some, but I’m happy with the direction I’m going and even happier with the direction my hair is going. Looking forward to a fresh start.

One thought on “As The Relaxer Jar Turns

  1. I went natural in May of 2007 and haven’t looked back. I keep asking myself, “Why didn’t I do this sooner?” Of course, I’m not completely natural (how many blonde, black women do you know?). The color is bright for spring, then I gradually darken back up to black during the fall and winter. It’s been nice not having to fry my hair or do much of anything major. It’s so healthy. Good luck with your journey as well!

Leave a Reply

