La Bella Noire, RN

I’m just waiting for final confirmation, but I got in!! I’m going to be a nurse! Starting in january, I’ll be in one of the best nursing schools in the country. I’ve finally found a career path that I can put my heart in and still get paid pretty well (I’d still do it no matter what, though).

Most of my life, my mom (who’s an RN), told me not to get into that field because of all the politics. Every time I’ve thought about going into nursing, I’ve heard her voice in the back of my head so I steer clear. I got my degree in the admin/management side of the healthcare game because I’ve always felt at home in a medical setting, but it just wasn’t quite right. In my current position, I have the things that a lot of cubicle ghetto dwellers want–my own office, a “good” title, and some fairly important duties. But the longer I’m in it…the more I hate it. The being behind a desk and pushing papers and emails around isn’t making me happy. I get a twinge of jealousy when I see nurses and clinical staff walking around in their scrubs. I went back and forth about maybe going to cardiac tech school, dental hygeine school, or nursing. But at the end of every internal debate, nursing won out. Now that I’m a grown azz woman not afraid to choose the direction of my life and able to make educated decisions without my mother’s (or anyone else for that matter) opinion/experience being my sole influence, I’m going with my gut.

I’ve been asked if I think it’s stupid to get another bachelor’s, but I absolutely don’t. I see it as an investment in my future, and because I know better I won’t be owing Sa.llie M.ae my second child (she already has dibs on my first). I’ll probably go on to get my MSN, but we’ll let whatever organization I land a job with pay for that.

I’m so excited even though I know there’s going to be some challenging times ahead. I’ll be in school full time and (hopefully) working 3/4 time, so I’ll have to be dedicated. It seems like this year has really been one of serious change for me. I can say I kept my new year’s resolution of going for my personal and professional dreams. For one of the first times in my life, I’m proud of me. I let go and let Him, and my paths are being laid out for me. Fabulous.

7 thoughts on “La Bella Noire, RN

  1. Oh, I am so happy for you. There is nothing, I mean NOTHING that beats following your own dream to get where you want to go. I am doing the same thing… following my dream. Right now I am getting my Associates in Paralegal Studies but my goal is to get my MLS so that I can do Children’s Librarianship. Go for it girl and be happy. Blessings.

  2. Good luck to you! Sounds like you have found your path. Any thoughts on a specialty? I have off and on toyed with doing something like that – CNM or doula or something to do with birthing.

Leave a Reply

