I’m baaaack

Wow, it’s really been a while. I hope everyone had a great holiday season and had a great start to the new year. I would have posted sooner, but I’ve been going through some life changes and didn’t really have the desire to blog.

Anyhoo, I’m Mrs. D now and I’m loving it so far. The wedding was beautiful (what I can remember of it anyway…nerves make the day go by in a blur). We haven’t gotten our pictures back yet (Christmas and all), but when I get them I’ll post some. Our families are laying hard on their pictures too…we seriously haven’t seen one picture of the ceremony. People keep saying they’ll email them, but *poof* there’s nothing. We did get an mp3 recording of the ceremony–that was pretty nice–but why in the *beeeeeeeeeeep* did someone have their cell phone on ‘loud as hell’ in church? Of course it rang with some obnoxious ringtone, and it seemed they couldn’t find their phone. I found out who it was, but I have to deal with that in a separate matter cuz this chick is partly responsible for those life changes I mentioned before.

The honeymoon–yes we did make it out of our room lol–was fabulous. We were in Montego Bay for a week. Here are a couple of pics:

jamaica-honeymoon-2008-032Sunset from the resort’s beach

The view from breakfast everyday

The view from breakfast everyday

Awww

Awww

1st stop on the "Sober? Not me" train

1st stop on the "Sober? Not me" train

jamaica-honeymoon-2008-113

jamaica-honeymoon-2008-205

The rest of the trip was much of the same. Beach, drinks, food, lots of sun. We’re actually planning a return trip this year. Can’t wait. On the way back, however things started to get shitty. We had a layover in Detroit (don’t ask…we flew over BWI, our final destination, just to get to Detroit. *Sigh*), but the flight there was delayed because they had snow and lots of it. We were stuck in the Montego Bay airport for 6 hours. Ok, that’s fine I guess. We ate and drank…not much else to do. Well when we finally got to Detroit, this is what we saw…

jamaica-honeymoon-2008-298

D was pissed!

D was pissed!

Of cours we were the last international flight to land that night, so the customs people were tired and slooow. And of course because of the friggin 10 inches of snow we missed our connecting flight home (even though that was delayed…but only by two hours). The airline was nice enough to put us up for the night at The Crowne Plaza Hotel, so we had cozy luxury digs. But it was cold.as.hell. outside, especially considering it had been 80 degrees for us just a few hours earlier and we didn’t exactly carry winter stuff with us. We got home the next morning, and we were kinda sad that the whole thing was over. The wedding and planning really took over our lives for a while before the wedding. But we’re rested now and have settled into our ‘married life’ routine just fine.

I’m going through some changes with friends though. I’ve made a conscious effort not to be that chick who does nothing but brag about her wedding and husband and yadda yadda, but I’m still getting a lot of hate/jealousy/envy from (people I thought were) friends. Not so much of the “girl I’m so happy for yall”, but the “now I want to be you” type of mess. I can’t get into it too much here, but it’s borderline crazy and could be interpreted as attempted ID theft. Email me if you want to know the deal…a hot ass mess. But when is something in my life not a hot ass mess?

Now that the whole hoopla is over, I can go back to my life again. You know, gym and social stuff, and keeping my word on promises I’d made months ago. *Ahhh* it feels good.

11 thoughts on “I’m baaaack

  1. Congrats Mrs. D!

    The pics came out wonderful but I am still waiting for the pic of you in your dress!

    80 degrees…pretty beaches…cool waters…drinks…and a man that loves you by your side? Can’t get too much better than that huh?

    ROFL@yall walking around with your beach gear on through the snow! HAHAHAHAHAA!

    Weddings generally remind folks of their relationship status so I am not shocked some of your “friends” are changing a bit. It’s not bad to talk about your wedding/honeymoon this is a special moment in your life…just don’t get to the point where everyone around you can tell the story for you cuz you told it too much πŸ™‚

    Please don’t say that your “girlfriend” had her phone go off intentionally! Please don’t.

  2. Oh, the pictures are gorgeous! I bet you’ll be talking about these memories at your 50th wedding anniversary party (hey, if you’re gonna dream, dream big…my motto for 2009). πŸ˜‰ Oh! That totally sucks. Not only were you laid over, but laid over in iceberg conditions in pit-of-hell Detroit. Detroit! (can you tell it’s not my favorite place to be).

    I am so thrilled for you! Truly. You guys couldn’t be a cuter couple. You’ll have to go into details about the resort and all the goodies you consumed. I’m living vicariously through you.

  3. Glad to see you both are back in one piece and apparently happy with the big smile on your faces. Yep,now that you are married some folks are gonna have some issues, unfortunately. Friendships often change when folks get married because your issues and concerns change. Most people try to give the new couple space, some try to be all in the biz and some just get envious and start acting a fool. Trust me, either your friend will know her place and straighten up or she will move on. It will all come clean in the wash.

    Me? I am looking forward to what I am sure will be some beautiful wedding pictures of the now Mr. and Mrs.

  4. Welcome back! I was just about to get the search party together πŸ™‚ As for the “friends”, all I can say is that sometimes folks are so deep in their sh!tty lives that they can’t fathom being happy for someone else. And you know I want details because (I’m ridiculously nosey) something tells me this story will be verrrry juicy. LOL!

    Why don’t folks understand how to silence or turn off their phones? Some folks are too busy trying to play it off like it wasn’t them (fear of embarrassment?), so they just let that joint keep singing Beep Beep that Gucci much to the chagrin of everyone else’s ears.

  5. Welcome back!!! Congrats again. The pictures from the HM look great. The scenery looks VERY serene and calming. I agree with ladynay, this is a very special time in your life so don’t feel like you can’t share it. Honestly, those who are true friends will be genuinely happy for you…without the added hotmessiness! I would just refrain from letting it be the ONLY thing you talk about, especially with people who may be having relational issues πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to see your wedding pics. You and D are glowing (either from your wedding day or those huge dranks…I can’t tell)

  6. You and D are such a beautiful couple! Congrats again!!

    That breakfast view almost made me shed a tear. I need to start stacking my dollars ASAP!!

    Sometimes I just want to ask people if a pack of wolves raised them they way they act. Cell phone ringing in church! UGH

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!! I did say “aww” when I saw the pics of you two…quite the handsome couple.

    I think it’s a shame that your “friends” (and I use that word loosely) aren’t as happy for you as they should be. They sound selfish. You think once you reach a certain age, that people would grow up…but the childish shenanigans don’t seem to stop.

    I made such a face at ole girl who’s phone was not on vibrate…so rude.

  8. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Welcome to the other side. Forget the haters, live your life and those that are postive should be welcomed along and those with all that negative energy should be left behind. Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  9. Nice pictures! Makes me really want a vacation. Congratulations! That’s a shame about work. When we say that work makes us sick, it shouldn’t be literally. Hopefully you start to feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

