Personal Finance Friday

It’s still early on in the new year and this is a good time to not only get your physical house in order, but also to get your financial house in order.

Since I was in college and learned some haaaard lessons about credit, debt, and identity theft I’ve made it a point to order my credit reports at least twice a year. I have a credit report monitoring service, so I check my reports more often then the average person probably would. After I got my identity stolen, I got super-anal about that stuff. Don’t mess with me and my money!

You should be checking your reports at least once a year and checking for/disputing any errors that you find. Having the best credit you can is essential in these times…hell, you can be looked over for a job if your credit isn’t in the best shape you can get it in. In this economy, people’s credit scores are in the tank, but that doesn’t mean you should skip checking your reports. Getting your stuff in order can mean the difference between a good interest rate and not being able to get the house of your dreams.

I’m sure you know, but just as a friendly reminder, you can get all three credit reports for free at Annual Credit Report.

One thought on “Personal Finance Friday

Leave a Reply

