Work It Out Wednesday

Even as a little kid, I was never good at hula hooping. For some reason, I could move my hips like my life depended on it, but that damn hoop would still hit the ground like a sack of concrete.

Needless to say, I was maaad skeptical when I heard about “fitness hooping” at the gym. Basically you use weighted hula hoops to help tone your midsection. First I couldn’t wrap my mind around a weighted hula hoop — I pictured something crazy like a dumbell taped to a hula hoop. I’m no physicist, but I don’t think Mother Nature would be cool with that. But I did a little digging and found that the hoops come in different weights (usually 3-5 lbs.) and different diameters. The differing diameters/weights make the excercise easier or harder.

I found a whole bunch of websites that sell hooping programs, but even though I was a hooping virgin I figured I’d give it a try myself. I found that using a 3 lb hoop provided a good amount of resistance. I used a larger diameter at first because it moves slower and was easier to control. Like I said earlier, hula hooping didn’t come easy to me as a kid, so this was good for me. I finally got the hoop thing down, so now it won’t fall to my ankles.

It was really really fun, and was a great alternative to yoga and pilates. I did overdo it on my first try though and heard from a few other people that it’s easy to do since the movement is so much fun, so if you’re going to try it be careful not to over do it.

I found my hoops online, but I’ve seen them in the sporting goods stores too. I can see myself doing this rather than crunches and other ab work. It’s fun to throw on some music and keep it movin.

One thought on “Work It Out Wednesday

  1. Oh! I’ve never heard of this! I was a hula girl and pretty good at it, but after the babies, I’d probably need a lesson or two from you. πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check it out. Sounds like fun! (Anything’s better than crunches. Ugh!) πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

