Fly Girl

On the last trip outta Dodge, which was to Vegas in March to celebrate my birthday, something hit me like a sack of concrete. I really like flying and want to learn how!

I’ve always been that strange kid who enjoys layovers because I actually enjoy airports — hell, one of my bucket-list things is to visit all of the major airports in the United States and Europe.  I’ve even always liked the feeling of taking off, listening to the landing gear fold up, and watching the flight attendants do their thing. I remember vividly getting my wings pin from a pilot when we landed in Jamaica to see the family when I was about 5 or 6 years old. I’ll be 30 soon, and for that birthday I’m going skydiving (I’m hoping to try it this summer too).

Needless to say, I’ve always enjoyed being in the air or being around things air travel related. During the layover in Atlanta I saw a sign for flight school and I got extra excited and filed the information in the back of my mind. Once we got back and I had the chance to look for schools in the area and I found one not too far away based out of College Park.

I took my chances and contacted the school. If everything goes according to schedule, I can enroll in classes this July. That means I’ll officially be a “fly girl”! Woot! I’m going hard with this pursuing my dreams thing. I’m hoping to learn to fly small aircraft and helicopters. This brings me one step closer to my super-ultimate goal of being a flight nurse, transporting trauma and critically ill patients. Nursing school: check. Flight school: check. Yay!

I can’t wait till August…

3 thoughts on “Fly Girl

Leave a Reply

